Tuesday, November 3, 2009

TanaReid (Akira Tana and Rufus Reid): Back to Front (19970

Whether the world was actually waiting for Rufus Reid and Akira Tana to join forces and conjoin names-- a la Brad and Angelina -- is subject to debate. There's not much question, however, that TanaReid is one lame-ass handle.

I snagged this as soon as I saw it at the library without reading the credits carefully. I saw Reid's name (I'd been listening to him on Andrew Hill's Shades a lot) and Mark Turner's and took it home. A little later my heart sank when I saw that four of the 10 tunes here feature singers -- Grady Tate on two numbers, Barbara King on "Lazy Afternoon" and -- god help us -- a whole vocal sextet on another. I hate that kind of thing. But you know what? It all works (except for the vocal sextet piece, but even that sounds terrific when the singing stops). And you know what else? Reid and Tana have bigger, more engaging musical personalities than I ever would have guessed. Add Mark Turner to the mix and this John Stetch guy and you've really got something. There were, as of the release of this date, four prior TanaReid records, none of which I have ever set eyes on. I bet they're all pretty interesting. Too bad about the name, though. Oh — and the cover, too.

Rufus Reid: b
Akira Tana: dr
Craig Bailey: as, fl
Mark Turner: ts, ss
John Stetch: p
Barbara King: voc (#3)
Grady Tate: voc (#5, 7)
Grey Lienhard Voices: voc (#9)
  1. Mr. Brown (Mark Turner)
  2. Dream Catcher (Akira Tana)
  3. Lazy Afternoon (Moross/Latouche)
  4. Back to Front (Akira Tana)
  5. But Not For Me (George and Ira Gershwin)
  6. Embraceable You (George and Ira Gershwin)
  7. When She Smiles Upon Your Face (Rufus Reid)
  8. Green Grove (John Stetch)
  9. Perpetual Stroll (Janet Lawson/Rufus Reid)
  10. McWorld (John Stetch)
Recorded December 22, 1997 and January 4-9, 1998 at Hillside Sound, Englewood, NJ.
320 kbps mp3 rip from Evidence CD 22206-2

1 comment:

Festoonic said...